Trending Topics

8 Life Changing Books Malcolm X Read In Prison

 Story of Civilization by Will and Ariel Durant

Written by husband and wife Will and Ariel Durant, Story of Civilization is an 11-volume set of books tracing Western history. It was written over the span of over four decades, and all the volumes together add up to almost 10,000 pages. The series seems to be left unfinished though because in the first volume Our Heritage, the Durants wrote that they wanted to continue the history all the way through the early 20th century. The authors both died in the 1980s, ending the series with The Age of Napoleon.



Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 4.50.39 PM

The Outline of History by H.G. Wells

Subtitled either The Whole Story of Man or Being a Plain History of Life and Mankind, The Outline of History first came out in an illustrated version of 24 installments beginning on Nov. 22 1919, and wasn’t printed in a singular volume until 1920.

Back to top