Trending Topics

‘Homeland,’ Obama’s Favorite Show, Dominates Emmy Awards

America’s fascination with terrorism on American soil has unabated, as the Showtime thriller “Homeland” was the big winner last night at the Emmy Awards.

The scripted drama, which President Obama has admitted is one of his favorite shows, took home the Emmy for Best Drama Series, in addition to the Emmys for Best Actress in a Drama Series (Claire Danes) and Best Actor in a Drama Series (Damian Lewis). In addition, the show won for Best Writing in a Drama Series.

Once again, this year’s Emmys were dominated by the cable channels, who consistently demonstrate that they are where the best television is happening. “Modern Family” is the lone bright spot for the networks, once again winning Best Comedy Series and also Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy (Eric Stonestreet) and Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy (Julie Bowen), both of whom have won once before as part of the remarkable six-member “Modern Family” adult cast, all of whom get nominated for Emmys every year.

HBO’s “Game Change,” featuring Julianne Moore’s portrayal of Sarah Palin, was also dominant, winning Best Miniseries or Movie, Best Actress in a Miniseries or Movie for Julianne Moore, Best Writing in Miniseries or Movie (Danny Strong) and Best Directing in a Miniseries or Movie.

Even Best Actress in a Comedy went to a cable show—Julia Louis-Dreyfus in HBO’s “Veep.”

As for the reality show competition, there was no competition as “The Amazing Race” won again—the show amazingly has won this category every year since 2003 except once, when “Top Chef” won in 2010.

Surprisingly, “Basketball Wives” and “Love and Hip Hop Atlanta” were shut out. Maybe next year.

We’re joking.

Here is the complete list of major winners at the 64th annual Primetime Emmy Awards presented by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences:

— Drama Series: “Homeland,” Showtime.

— Actress, Drama Series: Claire Danes, “Homeland,” Showtime.

— Actor, Drama Series: Damian Lewis, “Homeland,” Showtime.

— Supporting Actor, Drama Series: Aaron Paul, “Breaking Bad,” AMC.

— Supporting Actress, Drama Series: Maggie Smith, “Downton Abbey,” PBS.

— Writing, Drama Series: Alex Gansa, Howard Gordon, Gideon Raff, “Homeland,” Showtime.

— Directing, Drama Series: Tim Van Patten, “Boardwalk Empire,” HBO.

— Comedy Series: “Modern Family,” ABC.

— Actor, Comedy Series: Jon Cryer, “Two and a Half Men,” CBS.

— Actress, Comedy Series: Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “Veep,” HBO.

— Supporting Actress, Comedy Series: Julie Bowen, “Modern Family,” ABC.

— Supporting Actor, Comedy Series: Eric Stonestreet, “Modern Family,” ABC.

— Writing, Comedy Series: Louis C.K, “Louie,” FX Networks.

— Directing, Comedy Series: Steven Levitan, “Modern Family,” ABC.

— Miniseries or Movie: “Game Change,” HBO.

— Actress, Miniseries or Movie: Julianne Moore, “Game Change,” HBO.

— Actor, Miniseries or Movie: Kevin Costner, “Hatfields & McCoys,” History.

— Supporting Actress, Miniseries or Movie: Jessica Lange, “American Horror Story,” FX Networks.

— Supporting Actor, Miniseries or Movie: Tom Berenger, “Hatfields & McCoys,” History.

— Directing, Miniseries, Movie or Dramatic Special: Jay Roach, “Game Change,” HBO.

— Writing, Miniseries, Movie or Dramatic Special: Danny Strong, “Game Change,” HBO.

— Reality-Competition Program: “The Amazing Race,” CBS.

— Host, Reality-Competition Program: Tom Bergeron, “Dancing With the Stars,” ABC.

— Variety, Music or Comedy Series: “The Daily Show With Jon Stewart,” Comedy Central.

— Writing for a Variety Special: Louis C.K., “Louis C.K. Live at the Beacon Theatre,” FX Networks.

— Directing, Variety, Music or Comedy Special: Glenn Weiss, 65th Annual Tony Awards, CBS.

Back to top