8 Little Known Facts About the Negro Leagues You Probably Don’t Know


negro-league-team-(national-baseball-hall-of-fame-photo)The Creation of the Negro National League 

By the 1920s, there were many Black ball clubs around the country scheduling games and operating without oversight of a league. The 1900s saw the increased popularity of the game of baseball in Black communities. Many boys were playing the game with aspirations of stardom. With the active ball clubs drawing crowds and a marketplace full of Black fans, the Negro National League was created by Andrew “Rube” Foster in 1920. The league, which was headquartered in Kansas City, included eight teams—The Chicago American Giants, Chicago Giants, Cuban Stars, Dayton Marcos, Detroit Stars, Indianapolis ABCs, Kansas City Monarchs and St. Louis Giants.


The Other Leagues 

 In the same year the NNL was created, the Negro Southern League was formed by Thomas T. Wilson by bringing together the all Black teams located below the Mason-Dixon. Teams from Nashville, Atlanta, Birmingham, Memphis, Montgomery and New Orleans united to play the game in a “safe environment” within the segregated south. In 1923, the Eastern Colored League started in the north, consisting of the Hilldale Club, Cuban Stars (East), Brooklyn Royal Giants, Bacharach Giants, Lincoln Giants and Baltimore Black Sox.     

[wpdevart_facebook_comment ]