‘Selma’ Chosen As Top Movie of 2014 by African American Film Critics Association

Screen Shot 2014-12-09 at 1.39.55 PMAva DuVernay’s new film Selma was the crowd favorite with the African American Film Critics Association, as it was named 2014’s top film by the media organization. The film earned a bevy of awards from AAFCA, including Best Director, Best Actor for David Oyelowo and Best Song for its John Legend/Common theme song “Glory”.

“Our members found the output of cinema released this year to be a truly insightful mix of titles that reflect the world we live in,” said AAFCA president Gil Robertson. “The members of AAFCA were especially pleased with this range of storytelling supported by the studios that gave voice to the many sides of the experience of black people in America and around the world. We had a lot to pick from this year from Belle, Dear White People, Top Five, Timbuktu and Selma and hope the industry will continue to provide a platform for diversity on the big screen.”

Each year, the African-American Film Critics Association awards outstanding performances and projects which center around Black life, appeal to Black communities and star actors of African descent. Founded in 2003 and based in Los Angeles, the AAFCA promotes and supports the future of Black film.

This years winners are as follows:
Best Actor David Oyelowo, Selma (Paramount)
Best Actress Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Belle (Fox Searchlight)
Best Supporting Actress Octavia Spencer, Black and White (Rela)
Best Supporting Actor Tyler Perry, Gone Girl (Fox) /J.K. Simmons, Whiplash (SPC)
Best World Cinema Timbuktu (Les Films du Worso)
Breakout Performance Tessa Thompson, Dear White People (RAtt.)
Best Director Ava Duvernay, Selma (Paramount)
Best Screenplay Gina Prince-Bythewood, Beyond the Lights (Rela)
Best Music John Legend/Common, “Glory” (Selma soundtrack)
Best Ensemble Get On Up (Universal)
Best Independent Film Dear White People (Roadside Attractions)
Best Animation The Boxtrolls (Focus)
Best Documentary Life Itself (Magnolia)

The official award ceremony and dinner will take place on Wednesday, February 4, 2015 at the Taglyan Complex in Hollywood, CA.

Back to top