Trending Topics

’42’ Soundtrack Includes Great Sampling of Period Jazz

The past two years has seen two high-profile baseball-themed movies: one good, 2011’s “Moneyball,” and the other less-than-good, last year’s Clint Eastwood-starring “Trouble With The Curve.” While the latter film was a disappointment for the studio, Warner Brothers is hoping they’ll hit a homerun (see what we did there?) with the Jackie Robinson biopic “42.” Scheduled for release next month, the details of the film’s soundtrack album have been released and, as one would expect from a period film, it’s filled with popular tunes from the era.

The biopic stars newcomer Chadwick Boseman with Harrison Ford, Christopher Meloni, Ryan Merriman, Brad Beyer, Judy Tylor, Jon Bernthal, Nicole Beharie and T.R. Knight rounding out the rest of the cast. The film focuses on the Robinson’s time with the Brooklyn Dodgers when he became the first baseball player to break the color barrier.

We were pretty impressed by the film’s trailer when it was unveiled last year and though the soundtrack won’t boast Jay-Z’s anthem “Brooklyn Go Hard,” it’s still a nice collection of tracks from artists like Duke Ellington, Hank Williams and Billie Holiday, as well as a piece of score from composer Mark Isham. “42” hits theatres on April 12th and the soundtrack will arrive a few days before on April 9th.

“42” Soundtrack Tracklisting

1. Good Rockin’ Tonight – Wyonnie Harris
2. Shame On You – Spade Cooley
3. Moon Glow – Artie Shaw & His Orchestra
4. Begin The Beguine – Melora Hardin
5. Lover Man (Oh, Where Can He Be?) – Billie Holiday
6. Panama – The Lecuona Cuban Boys
7. Straighten Up And Fly Right – Nat King Cole Trio
8. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore – Duke Ellington
9. Move It On Over – Hank Williams
10. I’m Gonna Move To The Outside of Town – Louis Jordan & His Tympany Five
11. The Ball Game – Sister Wynona Carr
12. Did You See Jackie Robinson Hit That Ball? – Count Basie
13. Jackie Robinson – Mark Isham

Read more: IndieWire

Back to top