Trending Topics

Ga. Governor Announces 6 School Board Replacements

20130313-181622.jpg Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal announced six new DeKalb County School board members  Wednesday to replace the six ousted members.

The new board members — John Coleman, Michael Erwin, David Campbell, Joyce Morley, Karen Carter and Thaddeus Mayfield — were sworn in during a ceremony at the DeKalb County Schools administrative headquarters at 1 p.m.

Deal says a selection panel interviewed about 60 applicants from a field of more than 400. He said he’s encouraged by the candidates’ qualifications, and their credentials are a testament to the residents of DeKalb County.

DeKalb County is the state’s third-largest school district, serving about 99,000 students. It was placed on probation in December by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools following a six-month investigation.

Read more: 11Alive

What people are saying

Leave a Reply

Back to top